Home > Introductions > Welcome

Welcome

This is the course blog for the Spring 2011 section of “Texas Slavery,” a team-taught class at Southwestern University by Professors Carina Evans and Elizabeth Stockton.  We welcome all readers to this forum as we and our students post our reflections about our community, our readings, and our class discussions.

For students in the course: your first blog post is due Thursday at 11:59 PM. Your first comment is also due at this time.  This is the only week of the term when your blog work will be due on a Thursday.  For the rest of the term, they are due on Tuesdays at 11:59 PM.

For your first blog post, please provide a short introduction of yourself.  You might want to include a bit of what you wrote in your first in-class essay, or you might want to write about why this course interested you.

Categories: Introductions
  1. 4lillie5
    January 12, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Here’s my comment. See you at the cemetery!

  2. rh567
    January 12, 2011 at 2:11 am

    I have figured out how to leave comments, but I have no idea how to leave a post. I will keep looking though and hopefully I can get this figured out.

    • stocktonprof
      January 12, 2011 at 2:18 am

      When you log into wordpress, you should see a menu in the top left hand area of your browser. One of your choices should be “My Blogs.” Scroll down to “Texas Slavery Course.” When you do, you should see an option for “New Post.” Click that, write a title for your post, and then write the body for your post in the next section. Then, click “Publish” in the right-hand menu. Let me know if you still have troubles, and I’ll be happy to help.

  3. January 12, 2011 at 5:50 am

    I’ve just added my first post, but instead of allowing me to hit “publish” it had me select “Submit for Review.” Was that the proper thing to do?

    appreciatively,
    katie m

  4. karylfowler
    January 13, 2011 at 2:10 am

    I also can’t figure out how to post! It will only let me comment; is this because I have not yet been added to this blog? I did subscribe to it.

    Karyl

  5. Lauren Knutti
    January 13, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Hello! This is my comment. I really really really enjoyed visiting the cemetery and now I have all of these ideas bouncing around in my head about what we could potentially do to help. I am so excited!!!

    -Lauren

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

