Home > Introductions > Introduction

Introduction

My name is Charlotte Griesel and I’m a first-year Political Science major. I signed up for Texas Slavery because my friends had been telling me about it, and it sounded like an amazing and very unique class. I’m glad that I got to add the class.

My family has never owned slaves. They either resided in the Northern states, such as Ohio, moved to the South once slavery had ended, or weren’t even living in America during slavery. Living and growing up in Texas, I never really considered it as a slave-holding state. Yes, it was part of the South, but it wasn’t the plantation, antebellum, Gone With The Wind-esque world that I imagined. But as I grew older, I began to see that Texas did have this past. I’m curious and eager to learn more about Texas and this past that somehow has gotten glazed over. Why are we not taught more about Texas when it comes to the South and slavery?

While I’ve never used a blog for class before, I have had multiple blogs in my lifetime. I am also very excited about the visits to the slave graveyards we have coming up. This is something that most of us never really think about when it comes to slavery. These people were enslaved and did die, but what happened to their bodies afterwards? Again, this is something many of my history classes skipped over when covering slavery, the Civil War and Reconstruction.

I am looking forward to furthering the investigation into these seemingly taboo topics in this day and age.

Categories: Introductions
  1. January 12, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I fully agree with you about the fact that it is stunning how our schools, government, and even families will at times attempt to rewrite the past in order to serve some ulterior motive or craft some new, easier history. This problem is especially interesting considering the topics discussed in Love Cemetary. Of course, this issue is also what we’re discussing in my poli sci class right now as well as what I’m partially touching on in my American Studies capstone paper — the issue of history’s malleability and multitudinous nature. I think this will be an intriguing course 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

