Home > Uncategorized > Response I: TX Slavery (Literature)

Response I: TX Slavery (Literature)

I already have some experience blogging, given my Paideia group posts, and I am already eager to begin the work in this course. I must admit I’m not terribly fascinated with the subject of Slavery and its prescence in early America, but this is likely due to a sense of guilt and a preference for more … exuberant? literary sensations. I’m much more interested in studying the dregs of slavery: issues of redlining, block busting, and protest literature. After all, slavery does make some surprising appearances in works I am very interested in such as Sherman Alexie’s “Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven” and Allen Ginsberg’s “Howl.”

Native American history is quickly becoming much more alluring to me and in this way I am intrigued by slavery in American history and culture. I am also interested in how slavery has shaped American values, neighborhoods, politics, and other identities such as faith identities, sexual identities, and even other race identities (after all, many young Native Americans are now attempting to desert their own cultures in order to assume more of the young, urban black culture, in search of some firmer identity, which may have roots more deeply embedded in how we have remembered slavery as a nation than we currently realize). I also recognize the growing importance of talking more explicitly about our past of slavery and the racist legacies it has created in light of the continued (and escalating) violence done against our fellow Americans every day and, today especially, against Congresswoman Gifford. And it is for these reasons and interests (as well as because of my pet interest in 19th century American literature though 20th century protest literature will, hopefully, become my forte in graduate school) that I am intrigued and excited by the possibilities presented to me in this course, Texas Slavery (Literature).

I look forward to the cemetary visit and to figuring out how this class will intermingle with my other coursework and with the Brown Symposium topics.

for now,

Katie Mead

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 12, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    You made some great points in here, especially about the fact that this is a subject that we rarely talk about. I read an editorial the other day by Leonard Pitts in which he wrote comparing the persecution of Jewish people in the Holocaust to African-Americans. He urged them to speak out more, much like many survivors have done about the Holocaust. If we can simply speak more about these seemingly taboo topics, we can learn more and possibly approach a more peaceful society.

  2. krcoleman
    January 13, 2011 at 3:23 am

    That sounds like a really interesting comparison between Jewish and African American people. I think one of the major differences that must be considered is that the Holocaust is still recent enough that a lot of descendants from people who survived the Holocause have probably heard first or second hand the horrors that their relatives went through. On the other hand, slavery was so long ago that the modern-day descendants of those who were enslaved probably don’t know their true family history. Sure, they probably understand general concepts but I’d be curious to learn how many descendants know intimate details about their ancestors and their experiences being enslaved.

  3. January 14, 2011 at 3:04 am

    I think it would be interesting to compare the treatment of Native Americans and African Americans during the antebellum period, especially in relation to where the two cultures are today. It would also be interesting to look into the Native American slavery that existed during the early colonization of Texas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

