Home > Uncategorized > Blog 1

Blog 1

Hello everyone! My name is Lauren Knutti and I am a sophomore majoring in Theatre and minoring in Communications. I am from Columbus, Ohio and I have no knowledge whatsoever of Texas history or Texas slavery. My first year seminar was about the history and ecology of the San Gabriel and I really enjoyed familiarizing myself with the area, so I thought it would be interesting to try again. To be honest…I don’t think I had ever stepped foot in a cemetery until today and it was incredibly surreal. I felt wrong even being there, walking on top of bodies. When I first tried to answer the question about how I have been affected by slavery, I was sure that I had not been because, to my knowledge, my family has not had anything to do with slaves. But as I came to think about it…almost every aspect of my life has been affected. And not everything is negative either. We spoke in class about music and the positive changes African Americans brought. Politics, as well, has been heavily influenced for the better. And one thing I find most important is the advancements in other social movements for minorities. Slavery was a terrible thing, but it paved the way for other minorities to have their voices heard in later years. I am very excited to start doing some more in-depth research. See you all in class : )

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. garrettca
    January 14, 2011 at 4:34 am

    As far as music is concerned, yeah, we’d be way behind without the African American influence. We wouldn’t even have ragtime without it 🙂

  2. jvittorio
    January 14, 2011 at 5:34 am

    I definitely agree with your response to how slavery has effected you. I felt the same way when answering the question! I think that it’s become such a taboo subject of focus in our history that we don’t realize all the ways that it is still effecting us today, but hopefully now that we realize that it will be easier to see its legacies in everyday life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

