Home > Introductions > Blog #1

Blog #1

Hi there! I’m Kate Longoria and I’m a sophomore English and Theater major. I’m really not blogging savvy, as I learned in ILS, but I have high hopes for round two. I don’t have a known family history that ties to slavery. I know that I’m a Daughter of the Revolution. My lots-great-grandfather was a messenger boy for the Patriots, so we’ve certainly been in the US long enough. My grandfather once told me an old joke that has apparently been passed down in the family that I think is applicable here: Apparently during the Civil War one of our cousins was of age and decided to head into Knoxville, TN so he could sign up with the Confederates, but when he got there he decided to go for the winning side and ended up in the Union. I’m really excited for this class. I’m especially looking forward to uncovering some lost history… It feels very Indiana Jones-ish.

Categories: Introductions
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

