Home > Introductions > Introductions

Introductions

Hi, I’m Mark.

I am a sophomore English-Spanish double major. I signed up for this class, thinking I’d gain some more credit towards my degree, not really knowing what it would be about. I’m excited about the research opportunities that will be involved in this class! I thought I wasn’t affected by slavery much, considering my family was never involved in it, until I realized that the communities I’ve been a part of for most of my life had very few African Americans. In fact, there were always lots of people of every ethnicity BUT African American. It seems quite odd when I look back on this conspicuous absence, but of course I know that the explanation can ultimately be traced back to cultural and economic barriers that are a residue left behind by the horrific days of the slave trade. And so I’ve grown up in a community that seems to unintentionally “shelter” me from African Americans. I’m kind of sad about that.

Categories: Introductions
  1. January 14, 2011 at 1:21 am

    It’s really quite shocking to what lengths people have gone to to segregate communities. Austin’s 1928 Master Plan established East Austin as a “negro district” while at the same time greatly improving the quality of residential life in West Austin. Any minorities who lived in West Austin were forced to move and if they refused their public services like running water and electricity were cut off. The divide of West and East Austin inn 1928 can still be seen today with the obvious disparities of socioeconomic class.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

