Home > Uncategorized > Old Georgetown Cemetery

Old Georgetown Cemetery

I just wanted to share some of the photos that I took while we were there today.

I also found this link to a site run by Williamson County. It has everyone buried in the cemetery, along with the first and last know burials. I’m sure this isn’t everyone who is there, seeing as the slave side is full of unmarked graves. The whole site is actually very cool, with a list of cemeteries all over Williamson County and the people buried there.

I’m guessing this one was a child’s grave, from the size of it. It had two stones at each end, which were basically just rocks. They were seemingly hand carved and were eroding. “1842 April 20” is what it says, I believe.

I’ve uploaded the rest of the photos to my Flickr if anyone would like to look.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. stocktonprof
    January 13, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    You captured some very moving images. Thank you for sharing them with us.

  2. meganvestal
    January 13, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing that website. It’s interesting to me how much more connection I feel with some of those names because I walked by headstones, and saddening to know how many names aren’t reflected in that list.

  3. garrettca
    January 14, 2011 at 4:31 am

    These are some very cool links. Also, I really like the picture of the larger gravestone on the slave side. That was the first thing I checked out when we wandered off on our own.

  4. rh567
    January 14, 2011 at 5:58 am

    These are very great pictures!! All of the unmarked gravestones and the hand carved stones were so moving.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

