Home > Introductions > Intro post thing

Intro post thing

Hi there! I’m Garrett Cathey, and I’m an English major.  I signed up for Texas Slavery because it seemed like a pretty cool class.  My family has done a lot of genealogical research, so I’ve spent a lot of time in cemeteries.  I was told that this class would include a lot of graveyard lurking, so… awesome.

In my paper, I talked about slavery’s influence on music, because that’s really the only way that I could immediately think of when I considered how this legacy had affected me.  My family did not own slaves as far as I know, and I’m pretty sure I’m all white, though there may have been one greatx6 grandmother who is only listed as “Josie” and was buried away from her husband in a really sketchy plot in an Arkansas cemetery… We don’t really know what’s going on there.

In this course, I hope to understand a little more concerning how slavery affects me personally.  I’m looking forward to it.

Categories: Introductions
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

