Home > Introductions > Introductions

Introductions

Hello Everyone! I’m Susana Contreras, but I usually prefer to go by Susi. My parents immigrated from Mexico with my 2 sisters, and I was born and raised in the Los Angeles area. My parents and I moved to San Antonio, Texas  in 2006 while my sisters attended college in the UC system. I’m undecided as to my major for now, so I’m just trying to get a feel of the subjects that interest me. I’ve really enjoyed my classes that deal with issues like gender, class and race – so this class really captured my attention. Also I’m a bit of a history geek so again, a bonus.

Anywho, here’s a different perspective on how slavery and its effect on Texas History.

In U.S. history classes the issue of slavery in Texas is usually addressed by the Senate’s hesitance to include Texas as part of the nation in fear of tipping the scale of slave states versus free states. However what is seldom addressed is the effect slavery had prior to Texas becoming its own nation.  Prior to its independence, Texas was a state of Mexico, my family’s native country.  Americans quickly outnumbered Mexicans in the region, allowing for their ideals and customs to dominate – including slavery. However slavery was soon outlawed in Mexico, leaving American settlers upset and rebelling against the newly passed law.  Americans’ want for slaves in Mexico had a huge impact on my life and that of my family.  The settlers’ refusal to stop using slave labor largely contributed to the rebellion against the Mexican government leading an immense loss of land and resources for Mexico.  Consequently, Mexico lost an excellent opportunity to become a powerful nation compared to the global position it currently holds.  Issues such as immigration status and job security would no longer be a worry for several members of my family. Moreover, I grow more and more resentful as I visit the Alamo (living in San Antonio makes the event painfully frequent) reading plaques about how heroes were fighting for “freedom”.  This tourist monopoly based on a biased perception of Texas history serves as a constant reminder of what my family and my ancestral home have lost as a result for the supposed need for slavery.

Categories: Introductions
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

