Home > Uncategorized > Let the Adventure Begin!

Let the Adventure Begin!

HI, I’m Taylor Lunsford. I’m not new to blogging, but I am new to having to blog on a set subject. I sort of go where ever the wind blows me in my personal blog.

Most people who know me would think a course about slavery in Texas is a total 180 to my preferences for Jane Austen, Charles Dickens and the streets of London. But Texas and its history are what got me started on the track I’m on now. Growing up with a former cowboy for a grandpa (no, really, he was. At the Stockyards. When they were real Stockyards and not just a shopping district), who was fascinated by the Old West, I became intrigued by Texas history at a young age. However, I don’t think that slavery in Texas ever crossed my grandpa’s mind. Why should it? He grew up in the South and was a white man during the Civil Rights movement. And quite honestly, I never thought much about slavery in Texas either until I read the book True Women by Janice Woods Windle and even then it didn’t really set in that there was a significant population of slaves in Texas.

So this class, and this blog, are going to be an interesting challenge and learning experience for me.

Let the adventure begin!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

