Home > Uncategorized > Rocky Hollow Cemetery: An Inventory

Rocky Hollow Cemetery: An Inventory

I drove for what seemed like a long time. I passed by a church that I’ve been to before, then kept going until I reached the rural outskirts of the Georgetown area. The cemetery was surrounded by a metal fence. The sign that was meant to tell the cemetery’s story was immediately apparent: Rocky Hollow Cemetery.

Surveying the whole cemetery, it seemed so random. New, pristine white tombstones lay next to old ones whose letters had faded beyond legibility. There were various different groups of people there, according to the Texas Historical Committee sign: “Anglo pioneers,” former slaves, and people that used to buried where they built Lake Georgetown. It was very apparent that this was the case. Some of the tombstones were very non-descriptive: I accidentally stepped on a little stone that simply said, “Mother.” It was almost buried under the brown clumps of grass. I found a little plastic flower buried in the grass next to it.

That was another thing. Plastic flowers adorned many of these graves, regardless of how old they were. The oldest tombstone I found, for example, was that of William Bacon Tucker, a confederate soldier who passed away in 1865. His grave was well-kept, and two bunches of yellow plastic flowers decorated it. The dates of death extended all the way up to 2005, as far as I had found.

An interesting thing I noticed was that there were a bunch of infants that had been buried next to each other. Often, instead of the name of the child, the stone would say something such as “Georgia’s Baby Girl, Lived 3 days.” I imagine that these were the children of former slaves who were born in unfortunate conditions.

One last funny anecdote: I got chased out of the cemetery by a vicious dog! As I was finishing up, a woman was picking up her kids from the bus stop just outside the metal fence, with her two dogs in tow. One of them seemed particularly bothered by my presence, found a hole in the fence, slipped through, and proceeded to bark up a storm at me. I didn’t want to back down, because in my experience the yappy dogs end up wanting to be your friend. But it didn’t stop barking; it kept getting more and more antsy. I judged its size, figured it was just big enough to put a dent in me, packed up my stuff, and high-tailed it out of there!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. meganvestal
    January 19, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Your pictures of the headstones depicting a single name really interest me. They seem to be too new and the lettering looks too modern for such ambiguity. I noticed at Old Round Rock that a lot of people (generally white, but some black) who died in the late 1800’s had very new, marble headstones. It makes me wonder if family members are going back and creating new memorials for their lost loved ones. Or perhaps they are just now discovering their locations and feel the need to honor them. The black ones were equally as brief as “mother”, generally only having initials.
    It is interesting to see these certain ‘patterns’ arise from the various cemeteries.
    Thank you for sharing your pictures!

  2. garrettca
    January 19, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I wish we could have all organized and gone to this cemetery together. I’m seeing things in your post that I didn’t find. I might have to make another trip back at some point. Also, there was a graved marked 2010 in sort of a strange place. I only looked at it because the dirt mound itself looked a little odd.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

