Home > Uncategorized > Rocky Hollow Cemetery

Rocky Hollow Cemetery

It was an interesting trip to Rocky Hollow. A friend had agreed to take me but due to scheduling we would be bordering on staying past sunset; and quite frankly the idea of two girls being in a cemetery in the backwoods of Texas after dark is the making of a bad horror flick. As a result our trip was a bit short. While there one of the members of our party happened to be local, and was a little confused as to the concept of our class and the reasoning behind parts of the cemetery. This person couldn’t seem to understand it’s historical significance, or why I felt it also held such immense sentimental value. I couldn’t help but feel a bit preachy trying to defend Rocky Hollow, and tried to give myself some credibility with facts. I pointed out the amount of information that has been lost due to the socioeconomic status the African American community suffered through, and the general disregard of human life they had to endure. I think what upset me the most is this person grew up in Georgetown, and was completely unappreciative of the impact that those who were buried may have had on their hometown.

Regardless, I continued with the assignment. There was a single sing a few feet before the turn that indicated the cemetery was near, however the actual entrance was a fence. I wasn’t able to inspect each grave as much as I would have liked because of the amount of daylight I had left, but from the sign I was able to find out the oldest grave was from 1859. There were many recent graves from 2009 and 2010. From afar the cemetery just seemed like a random collection of graves, there was no organization to it, and at mount of wilderness varied across the lot. There were signs of people visiting, many graves had flowers others were obviously well kept. One object that struck me was a piece of stone. Initially it seemed like a marker of the end of a grave, like those we had seen in Old Georgetown Cemetery. However I realized it actually belonged to another about 20 feet south of where I found it. The stone read “MOTHER”, it had been placed upside down to mark another grave. It’s counterpart – a stone reading “FATHER” in matching font indicated it’s original resting place.

Slideshow

Also, credit for the picture of the sign is not mine. Found that on google, we were driving to quickly :/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. lhennigan
    January 19, 2011 at 5:02 am

    I had some of the same reactions from my friends when I tried to explain the significance of visiting the cemetery. At first I was a bit skeptical too, I mean how much can you honestly learn from graves right? But when I went by myself and actually took the time to examine all of the cemetery and the graves, I realized that it was more about the feeling you get when you walk through and see all of the history right in front of you. Even though we didn’t know these people or even have any connection to them, we learned a little bit about them and their past just by examining the details of their graves. A little creepy, but fascinating all the same.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

