Home > Uncategorized > Blog 3

Blog 3

Hi everyone! Something that stood out to me above anything else in the most recent reading from Love Cemetery was the comment Dorris made to Galland about it being okay to not fully understand. Many times throughout the novel I found myself confused or feeling like I did not have enough empathy for the characters, but I know it is simply because it is hard for me to relate. I do not share much common ground with most people who are still affected by slavery and that is a fact. There is no reason for me to pretend that I do and to pretend I understand because then I am simply mocking something that is near and dear to someone else.

Something else I have to discuss is the quote on page 151. It states that “to be rooted is perhaps the most important and least recognized need of the human soul.” I understand that it can be very helpful to know where we came from, but it can also be very unhelpful. In general, it is a good idea to remain aware of roots in terms of history, but it is not important to remain in your roots in terms of location or mindset. I just don’t like the thought of being rooted. We can always enact change in ourselves even if it seems difficult at first.

Something else that I just can’t get out of my mind and I know is crazy is the question….how did racism and slavery hold up for so long? Why didn’t someone say it was insane before it was too late? I just can’t imagine being in a world with explicit laws against someone of another color but I know that it comes down to social constructs and the man keeping people down. It’s just hard to put my mind in the right place. I can’t really explain.

Unlike many people in the class, I am liking this book. Yes, there are places where it feels as though Galland is being a little self-righteous, but I think her intentions are good and she is making a change. On another note, I AM SO EXCITED FOR OUR VIDEO PROJECTS!

-Lauren

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

