Home > Uncategorized > Love Cemetery & Memorializing

Love Cemetery & Memorializing

I know we all spent a lot of time talking about what we didn’t like today. But I have a few things that I’ve really enjoyed about Galland’s novel.

I can’t imagine the guts it takes to go into a situation where you don’t know anyone. She began helping this tight-knit community. A community of family, friends, and people who have lived there for years. But she formed bonds with the people and was able to assist them in forging forward in the attempt to reclaim Love. Yes, everything didn’t go smoothly. But she truly had the best intentions of the community at heart. And we have to respect that.

I enjoy how she weaves in and out, intermixing her story of white privilege with Ohio Taylor’s and others. It gives us a side-by-side view of how drastically different their lives were and the cultures are.

I also wanted to share a story I read in the Austin-American Statesman about a newly erected historical marker  in Buda. The marker stands where the Antioch Colony school once stood. The Antioch Colony was made up of freed slaves in Buda (south of Austin) in 1870. They were there before the rest of Buda was. They were often refereed to as the Black Colony, with their own school, church, and businesses. I thought that this really went along with what we’ve been talking about. I also thought that this was really, really cool. It’s good to know that, instead of merely mentioning a black neighborhood while pointing towards the white side, this marker is solely for the African-Americans who live, and have lived there.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. stocktonprof
    January 26, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Thanks for sharing the link to the article about the Antioch Community. I confess that I wasn’t aware of the community, and one of the fascinating outcomes of this project has been learning more about post-Civil War African American communities.

  2. carinaevans
    January 26, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Thank you, Charlotte! I wish I had seen this article sooner. I would have liked to attend the marker ceremony in Buda.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

