Home > Uncategorized > Point of View

Point of View

I really enjoyed watching the film clips of Love Cemetery in class today! I think that the footage was able to bring so much of the novel to life and kind of give me visuals for the characters. During the clips, I began thinking about about the point of view of the film. If Galland did a majority of the filming, then it would mostly be told from her point of view, same as the film. I think that one of the troubles I have with the novel is that her side of the story seems a little unbelievable at times and of course the film is likely to follow the novel so I wonder if its the same. So much of a novel gets lost when it is turned into a film, but is it different when the novel is non-fiction? I’m very curious to see if the film follows the novel or brings more of a documentary feel, in which case I would be much more likely to watch the film to see a hopefully more real interpretation of Love Cemetery. I really do like the book because it tells such an interesting story, but I think one way it could have been improved is to have different sections of the book told by different people who were involved. We’ve discussed in class how it seems very one sided and I think that if Dorris or R.D. had written their side it would have been different and added new perspectives to what was happening.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 26, 2011 at 2:05 am

    I agree, it was kinda cool to be able to see the actual characters and the way they interact. Personally, I am a very visual person so it helps when I can put a name, face, voice, or a personality to a character. I thought that the video clips made the characters come to life in my mind. Also, i think it is a very interesting point that you bring up, “what if Dorris or R.D. told their story and gave their perspective?” Personally, I believe it would have made this novel much more compelling to hear from a voice who was actually suffering/affected by Love Cemetery, because as Lillie stated in her blog,”They just don’t get it.”

  2. jvittorio
    January 26, 2011 at 2:43 am

    I definitely think that it will have more of a documentary feel, and that might take away from some of the accessibility of the story that is told in the book.

  3. krcoleman
    January 26, 2011 at 4:02 am

    I’d also be interested to see what happens in the actual movie and how it portrays the story of Love Cemetery, particularly because I feel like so much of what Galland writes already feels like a movie script, as though she took real life events and re-worked them to take into consideration what would really bring in the viewers. I would personally be much more interested in a documentary-style movie because I think it would provide more perspectives than just Galland’s.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

