Home > Uncategorized > Narrative or Not?

Narrative or Not?

As much grief as we gave Galland’s novel for distorting fact and adding a little too much voice, I found myself missing the narrative style of her book when I read the chapters from An Empire for Slavery. For me, I’d rather read something that is in a novel format rather than a textbook format just because the plot of the story keeps me interested. An Empire for Slavery was probably more historically correct and had many interesting facts and I found myself really taken aback by so much of the information. I agree with the comment in class about being shocked that Stephen F. Austin owned slaves because that’s definitely not something they tell you in the history books. I think that symbolizes the lack of recognition of slavery in Texas, at least by Texans. It was interesting to talk about Texas and the idea of slavery in the state with people who didn’t grow up in Texas. It was really kind of sad that they knew more about the history of slavery in Texas than I did, but that probably has to do with the taboo that surrounds slavery discussion in Texas. Nevertheless, I began missing Galland’s writing a bit when I found myself slightly bored by the constant facts being presented in the text. I suppose the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

Lori

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 1, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I agree.. it seems like there is nothing that can be done to please us in this class. We tend to find and dwell on the things we dislike about a reading/book rather than work around the differences we have with the author in order to try and enjoy the book.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

