Home > Uncategorized > You may all go to hell, and I will go to Texas

You may all go to hell, and I will go to Texas

For those who don’t know the quote or haven’t seen it on shirts and mugs all over Texas, it’s from Davy Crockett, one of the men who fought at the Alamo.

I’m not going to lie, I love Texas. Adore it. There is no other place that I’d rather be in the U. S. Yes, it’s far from perfect. Yes, it covers up the history that it doesn’t like. But really, what state doesn’t? I’m not saying that it’s okay for Texas to gloss over it’s slave holding past and idolize these men like Austin who founded the Republic and owned slaves. But look at places like Georgia and Alabama. They aren’t remembering the slave holding past, but the Antebellum Gone With The Wind-esque history. They’re proud of the plantations that are there. They’re proud of their old blood. But they aren’t sitting their memorializing their slave holding past.

On another note, I am enjoying the new book we’re reading. I’m sure it’s the history buff in me. But the fact that there are all these documents out their telling the history of Texas that are skipped over in history classes is amazingly interesting. I’d like to read some of the sources that Campbell uses, be it Austin’s letters or just the tax records. In regards to his language when speaking about the slaves, I would imagine it has something to do with the fact that this is more of a historical text than a personal narriative. Yes, he’s telling a story, but it’s mostly in the context of times when these words were used.

All in all, I’m looking forward reading more from the book, along with working on our research projects!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 4lillie5
    February 1, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I’m also really curious to read some of the sources Campbell used in An Empire for Slavery. These seem like they’d be very helpful in our ongoing research projects.

  2. February 1, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Bonjour, Charlotte! I believe we’re in the same research group (Group 1, Q 1, right?) if I’m not mistaken :] I, personally, do not share your love of TX and am quite ready to be freed of it, but you bring up very excellent points. Of course, I would argue that for the Deep South (such as Virginia, the Carolinas, Georgia, etc) their pasts of slavery and prejudice are quite different and undeniable in ways that Texas has largely managed to bypass, I think. After all, not only do we hardly ever hear of the slaveholding that went on in Texas but we also hardly ever hear actual accounts of the attempted genocide of the Comanche natives that went on in early Texas, it’s as if the expansionism in Texas just sort of magically happened and John Wayne cleaned up the rest of it (though I think he filmed his TX in California :p).

    At any rate, you do bring up some great food for thought here because it is true that not a single state or location is perfect or without a tarnished past, and so perhaps it is our duty as educated citizens of Texas to take up some pride in the idea of liberating its history from the curtains of prevaricating and untruthful narratives which have proliferated through our public schools and collective, short memories. Perhaps it is our duty as educated citizens to speak up for Texas and disallow it from accumulating further grime on its history by working actively to end the practices of prejudice, segregation, and corruption which heavy it now.

  3. krcoleman
    February 1, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I think the famous quote by Davy Crockett kind of epitomizes both past and present idealizations of Texas. Back in those days, as Dr. Stockton has said, when people would simply paint G.T.T. on their front doors and book it on out of town to Texas and away from their problems, Texas symbolized this great, mystical expanse of land in which one could lose themselves and start over. I feel like for a majority of born-and-raised Texans (like me), that idealization still holds true. People today are so incredibly proud to be Texans, proud of the fact that we were our own country, proud to be the biggest state in the continental U.S., proud of just about anything in Texas. I feel like a lot of the time Texans do a frighteningly good job of covering up the things that we aren’t so proud of – like slavery and the genocide against the Comanches, for a few examples – and only highlighting “the good stuff.”

  4. rh567
    February 1, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Like I said in class, I come from a small country town where almost every single person was either openly racist or had no idea what that word meant. To me, that is what Texas is… and so I have always thought of this state as the epitome of “South”, the slave holding area with no ideas of equality or or acceptance. And the ideas that we teach our children in Middle and High school are horrible; it is true that every state has the closeted skeletons, but that doesn’t excuse Texas from locking the door with five different locks and then covering it up with glamorized narratives that have no real truths to them. I, however, am very guilty of separating not only Austin, but Georgetown from the Texas ideology. I have always said that I would move to Austin, “cause that isn’t really Texas”. Its funny to me the ideas society has constructed for us and the way we accept them without question. we are all guilty of that crime…

  5. February 1, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    I’m with Lillie – it would be proper for us to at least look into some historical primary sources, if only to get an idea of where our contemporary understanding of slavery comes from.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

