Home > Uncategorized > A Trip to Will. Co. Museum

A Trip to Will. Co. Museum

This afternoon Lillie, Lori, and I visited to Williamson County museum in an effort to find some inspiration of sorts. I was pleasantly surprised by what we found.

“We’re researching the way the black experience is memorialized in Williamson County after the Civil War,” I said to the woman working at the museum this afternoon. As we looked around the exhibits, there were a few things that I noticed. Any African Americans in the Antebellum period were referred to as “slaves.” There were receipts on display of people being bought by people in Georgetown. It seemed that the museum was walking a fine line when they described this part of history. I was glad they didn’t try to glaze over slavery, saying the white farmers in Georgetown magically became rich off of their crops. However, there wasn’t any commentary on the black community as a culture at that time. They seemed to be simply acknowledging a population, as if counting up livestock. I don’t know if this is simply because there is a lack of information about the people who were enslaved in Georgetown, which seems perfectly possible. No museum worth its salt would put up assumptions and conjecture instead of historical facts. Another exhibit that intrigued me were the large works of art hanging high on the museum walls. We asked the woman working about the stories behind the murals and we got some fascinating answers.

One piece depicted Dan Moody sitting in a courtroom opposite a group of Klu Klux Klan members engulfed in fire. According to the woman, Dan Moody convicted the Klan members for tar and feathering a Jewish man. The trial had taken place right across the street in the Georgetown courthouse in the 1920’s.

Another mural was of a black doctor treating patients. The woman (I really wish I had asked her name. I feel so bad just calling her “the woman”) didn’t know as much about the man, but she was able to give us his name-Dr. Dickey- and a rough history about him treating black patients in the county.

All of these stories were completely new to me. I was so excited that the museum had these displays up. I know that when I was headed over to the museum I was expecting it to be a dead end. I honestly didn’t think that there would already be black memorialization in the museum. I can’t wait to investigate them more and incorporate them into our project. I definitely underestimated the Williamson County Museum.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. meganvestal
    February 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Your adventure seems so interesting! What really intrigued me was the use of murals to memorialize these individuals. I guess when I think of memorials plaques and sculptures come to mind, but not murals. I’ll have to go by there and look at those myself!

  2. February 15, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    This is very interesting! I’ve been looking at the museum’s web page a lot, and I’ve been curious about visiting it. The web page made it seem like there isn’t much on slavery, or the slaves themselves. It’s good to know that the museum tells a different story.

  3. February 15, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I hadn’t even thought about visiting the museum. My first reaction was that I assumed it wouldn’t help my group all that much (because we are working on current recovery efforts,) but it seems like this class is going to be much less structured than I had anticipated. By that, I mean I have not been able to plan every step of this process so far because one thing leads to another that I had not expected at all whereas information I expect to be easy to find is hidden within the depths of a place I cannot locate. It’s always interesting meeting people in a community who actually feel connected to it. Does that make sense? For example, I live in Columbus but if you asked me about the history of a particular building or cemetery, I would be clueless. I like finding people who care. I will definitely look into this museum! Thanks : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

