Home > Uncategorized > Williamson County Museum

Williamson County Museum

Today I met with my group at the Williamson County museum as a starting point for our research. I was expecting a big building with all sorts of documents and information on the walls but when I walked in, I was immediately surprised by the size. Everything was in one big room with about 4 or 5 main exhibits. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a small museum, so I may have been surprised because I’ve just never experienced this type of museum. After looking around for a bit, I noticed the lack of African-American representation throughout the museum. Other than a few random pictures on a wall that showed a football team with black players and a black family, there wasn’t really anything else that told their story or showed any evidence of a black experience at all in Williamson county. I think the most intriguing part of this lack of information was seen in the cotton exhibit in the back corner. There were pictures of the cotton farmers, but none of the laborers who were most likely black. I thought this was an interesting gap within history and it really made it seem like they were trying to hide this part of history. I did really appreciate the paintings that were around the top of the room. The first one I saw was located right above the cotton exhibit and showed a courtroom with members of the Ku Klux Klan being arrested. I believe it was called “You did it Dan Moody” or something along those lines. When we asked about it, the lady told us that Dan Moody was a young Governor of Texas who had the Ku Klux Klan prosecuted and charged, which was a big deal for the county. I thought this was really interesting because the depiction showed the KKK members, and not necessarily the people that they had hurt. I just can’t help but feel like Georgetown is hiding things, or at least trying to cover them up. I know that we talked about how history tends skim over the negative aspects and this was something that I had never realized at all. But the more research I do and actually see examples of this, I’m getting more disturbed by people’s ability to forget and try to ignore the past.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. jvittorio
    February 15, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I’ve been to the Williamson County museum several times with my Paideia group, and for a county museum I thought it was awesome. Also, last spring we went to see the play “You Can’t Do That Dan Moody”, and it was really good. The actors all perform wonderfully, and the story is interesting since it happened in the very courthouse it’s performed in. I would definitely recommend it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

