Home > Uncategorized > Taking in some R&R – Reading and Research

Taking in some R&R – Reading and Research

Haha, did you guys like that? It was punny.

 

Okay bad jokes aside I have loved the reading. The perspective of a slave during the anti-slavery movement is interesting to begin with, but more so when its the perspective of a woman. The issues of sexuality and how slave women are portrayed by white society as unable to contain their lust was very interesting to me. I also found her refusal to have her liberty purchased for her particularly interesting – issues of pride and personal worth/identity came to mind when I read this. I began to question myself if I would cave into the idea of having someone purchase “my freedom”.

Research wise I have been playing around with the ideas of perspective with my visits to the Williamson county museum. It was interesting to see how slavery is publicized in the museum from the foundations of Georgetown to the Civil Rights movement. Let’s just say it was unsettling to see how neutrally and non nonchalant it was mentioned in the foundations, and then see a massive painting if KKK members on trial and on fire. Still trying to figure that one out into words.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 1, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I guess I’m not as disturbed by the KKK picture as you seem to be for a couple of reasons. And before I start, I am sensitive to these ideas and completely understand why it would be upsetting for many people. I do think the descriptions should have been at least slightly more detailed than it sounds like they were. The picture, though, I think is very important. I think those sorts of pictures actually help give us more perspective to empathize with those who were enslaved. And in some ways, I think hiding those pictures gives them more power. If we hide those pictures away and tell ourselves they do not exist, we are just letting all of the racist people who still live today (of which there are many) that they have, in some twisted way, won. I’m not sure I expressed all of that in the right way. I guess all I’m trying to say is that I know that probably upset you, but I would try to view it less as an entirely negative thing and maybe more as a sign that we have come a far enough way that it is okay to display those sorts of images.

  2. March 1, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    I understand that unsettling feeling – it is bewildering to view photos, videos, and even film from eras long since past and see how very nonchalant people were with what we take to be hateful actions and attitudes. It’s made particularly real when used in fictional stories that we find ourselves watching (e.g. rampant misogyny in “Mad Men”, overt racism in “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”, etc.)

  3. lhennigan
    March 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    That particular painting really struck me as well. I think I was more surprised by the location; it was just hanging in a back corner and it was one of those WTF moments for me when I looked up and saw it. I agree with Lauren that it may prove that we have come far enough to display these paintings and have them represent historical aspects rather than being beliefs. This particular painting was also in celebration of the fall of the KKK in Texas so I think the story helps explain the painting. I still agree that it is disturbing, and at first I definitely thought it was a painting that just showed the hold the KKK had on society in the area. I’ve heard a ton of rumors and stories about Georgetown still having an active KKK chapter so I think that may have played into this idea too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

