Home > Uncategorized > Types of Memorialization

Types of Memorialization

As I proceeded further into our project, I began realizing how narrow-minded my idea of memorialization was. For me, I always thought of like statues or historical markers as being ways to memorialize something. These seemed at first the only examples of legitimate remembrance. But the more I research different kinds of memorials, I am realizing that memorials don’t have to be a huge statue or something that is portrayed for the world to see; memorials can be in many different forms that are public or private. I’m in group 3/C, and Jessica has researched different definitions of memorialization that explain it using academic terms and sources. I now understand that memorialization goes beyond just a global definition and reaches an individual level. For example, I came across a video that showed a slavery memorialization demonstration in Atlanta. During this ceremony, there were speakers and people who told personal narratives about their family experiences, as well as a candlelight vigil that lit a path to the state capitol building. I though this entire ceremony was very touching and reached far beyond what any concrete marker ever could. I think this has been one of my largest realizations throughout this project, especially here in Georgetown. I began by researching historical markers that might mark a site or event pertaining to the black experience. After learning of different examples of memorialization, I’m now looking for different ceremonies, festivals, and even people with personal family narratives regarding their experiences. I am really excited that I no longer think of memorialization as an impersonal occurence.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 8, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    It is interesting to consider that memorialization is not necessarily a once-through process like constructing a monument or cemetery – it can also be an active event, like a parade or festival.

  2. March 8, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Yeah I agree with Sam. Could this include wakes/viewings also? If so, check out this guy that died a while back, his name is Trevor Link and what you are seeing is his car used in the wake. I think this could be considered to be an unconventional way of memorializing, but memorializing none the less.

    If anyone is interested in the news stories about him, this happened in Lake Land, Florida.

  3. March 8, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Oooh, I like that video! And I completely agree with all of the above. If you find any information about festivals or parades, etc. in the central TX area please share!

  4. March 10, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I do dig what you’re saying — I especially like that you mentioned both public AND private types of memorialization exist because I don’t think most people consider the private sector in this way

    At any rate, here’s a cool video example of a modern type of memorialization:
    http://www.npr.org/blogs/pictureshow/2011/03/09/134394893/smiling-indians-depicts-a-lighter-side-of-native-americans

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

