Home > Uncategorized > Blog 10

Blog 10

Hello everyone! I hope your Spring Breaks are treating you all nicely. I don’t know if anyone else is feeling this way right now, but I am feeling a little bit halted in my research and if anyone has some suggestions, they would be much appreciated! I guess I am feeling like in order to be lead to more resources, I need to get some answers in interviews, but I am unable to conduct these interviews until after we get back from break. On a similar note, I was able to get in touch with someone who does scheduling for China Galland. It went as we had suspected. We are not going to be able to simply call or e-mail with questions. We would need to pay a large fee for a large ordeal. I don’t think we have the time or money to do anything like that…such is life. What sorts of research are the other groups and people doing over this break?

As for the interviews, I am a little nervous. I am sure once we get talking, things will flow nicely and not be at all awkward or intimidating, but I can’t help but fret over every last detail. I don’t want to be too casual because these are important issues whose value I would not want to diminish. However, I do not want anyone to get the impression that I am walking on eggshells because I don’t want them to feel uncomfortable around me and be less likely to reveal genuine details for fear of scaring me. Even when it comes to clothing, I am not entirely sure what to wear. I don’t want to go all out and dress as though I am a member of Congress, but I also don’t want to wear jeans and a tee-shirt. Maybe khakis and a button down? Again…suggestions are more than welcome!

Now, I am not more than 60 or so pages into Kindred, but I am very captivated by what I’ve read so far. I was not expecting to enjoy this novel because it is so unrealistic in plot, but now I’m finding it hard to put down. Butler does a fantastic job of making me empathize with the protagonist. I am constantly rooting for her and for her husband throughout. On the flip side…I find many parts unbelievable for reasons other than plot. I find much of the dialogue to be too hokey. When she and her husband are discussing the forging of freed slave papers, for example, the dialogue is so fast-paced, flowing, and formal for me to believe these are two married people genuinely scared for their well-being. Then, they go on to search through book after book instead of using the internet. This book was published in 2004 and I have no reason to believe thus far that the “present day” scenes are not, in fact, set in 2011 or something like it for me to suspend disbelief to the point that this couple would not consult google.com. Maybe I am being overly judgmental, but those moments really stick out to me when paired with such vivid scenes of physical and psychological fear, lack of trust, and utter confusion. I will hopefully get to finish the novel by tonight or tomorrow, and will update then! Have a lovely Tuesday night : )

-Lauren

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 16, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Hey Lauren! Those moments stuck out to me at first as well, but later in the book it’s specified that Dana is from the year 1976; once I realize that a lot of the behaviors began to make more sense — especially during the chapter when she and Kevin are discussing their families’ reactions to their marriage, I really had to remind myself what decade they were in for that chapter to make any sense at all to me

  2. March 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I JUST read that part and now I feel like a dingbat. Oops. Nonetheless…there are still a lot of strands of dialogue where 1. I have no idea who is talking until I reread a few times and 2. it seems very unnatural. I shall persevere!

  3. March 19, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Maybe for the church interviews khakis and a button down I would for sure suggest. For our particular group’s (2/B) interview with SAC I would just shoot for not looking like a frazzled, unwashed college kid in holey sweatpants. I don’t think I have seen anyone actually come to class looking this way except for me on occasion; trust that I will take my own advice. That stinks about the China Galland stuff, I think she would have been really helpful. Maybe it would work out if we had longer than a semester to deal with that. As far as the nature of the interview stuff goes, I’m pretty nervous too. Would starting off with a quick rundown of what our class and research is about be a good ice breaker without seeming like we’re looking for specific information? And then from there start off with some general questions that leaves room for them to answer freely. I am also open for more suggestions.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

