Home > Uncategorized > Kindred

Kindred

I just finished Butler’s Kindred. Holy Cow! I feel like crying and shouting and screaming all at the same time. I don’t know whether I liked it or hated it… but regardless, I didn’t love it. I usually read the last couple of pages of a book before I begin the actual reading of it, but for some reason I chose not to do that with this book and I really wish I had. I was totally not prepared for such a harsh and horrible ending. But, the ending itself was not what made me so upset, it was the fact that somehow it seemed to fit into that time period. The fact that to me, her action was justified, greatly disturbs me.

On to a more helpful and lighter note, I was wondering if anyone else found some passages in Kindred that might help them with their research. I am in group 4/D and the time when Alice is being buried would be really helpful for our particular question. But, how do we get the information we received from her if her text is a fiction? Is that particular passage really based on fact or is it another fiction based upon today’s practices?

Just curious if anyone else is having these questions! Hope everyone is having a great spring break! See you all next Tuesday!

Becca

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Hey Becca! No worries, I’ve been trying to think about how my group could utilize this text as well — but it’s fiction label does present it’s issues, doesn’t it? Is there any hope of contacting Butler, you think?

  2. rh567
    March 18, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Well, I don’t think it would be possible. At least not on such short notice. However, I was wondering if the bibliography in the back would be helpful. My problem with that is I am not sure whether those are works she has written, works that have used her book, or works that she used. If it is the later one, how will we know which works she used for each fact in her book! UGH! It is kind of frustrating. I am glad that you are having these same questions though! I also really liked your review of the book, I felt is was very similar to the feelings I had.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

