Home > Uncategorized > Response to Kindred

Response to Kindred

Kindred was a really intense novel. It was definitely one that I couldn’t put down and I read through it pretty quickly, but even though it was interesting I was left wanting something more. I think the idea of a time traveling slave novel is unique and the plot was really moving. I can’t really explain where my disappointment is coming from. Maybe I just wasn’t able to get into the novel because the idea was so farfetched? I’m wondering if anyone else had this issue.

 I was really interested in the way that Rufus was framed throughout the novel. I loved that he seemed to be the most multi-faced character in the text. I found myself hating him and sympathizing with him at the same time and that’s more than I can say about any other character in the text. I’m curious to know if Butler wanted that to happen, that Rufus would be the character that readers identified with or if thats just a personal connection. One thing that is often overlooked in history is the perspective of the white slave holders. Even though we often dehumanize them, this story really shows that they were human and suffered struggles of their own. In a way, that really opened my eyes to a perspective that I hadn’t really thought of before.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 21, 2011 at 6:29 am

    I can definitely sympathize with how you’re feeling, torn in that way, I mean. Rufus, actually, horrified me. I couldn’t understand why the other characters all reacted to him the way they so consistently did. I suppose this was meant to illustrate the tricky process of convincing children that certain injustices are acceptable … ?

  2. March 21, 2011 at 6:29 am

    *were “acceptable”

  3. trilderos
    March 22, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    I, for one, found the way the book was presented (time travel, etc) was interesting, and definitely helped to make it more interesting for me. As interesting as Love Cemetery and Incidents were, I felt that this added something quite different and thought provoking to the reading list in that it was a complete shift in perspective.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

