Home > Uncategorized > Pre- Break Interviews

Pre- Break Interviews

The interviews J.D, Sam and I completed before spring break were phenomenal. It was a very rare, and extraordinary experience to talk to these incredibly intelligent women and to hear their life stories. As J.D has said, Ella Moorer didn’t look a day over 50 even though she claimed she was 75. Emma Thorton was 85, and she is doing work on recovering Macedonia’s history that is close to what we are doing recovering the African American experience. The interview began with us looking at pictures of the Original Macedonia Baptist Church, and continued from there. We interviewed each woman separately, and I only wish that instead of and hour and a half we had two or three hours with each of them. I don’t want to give anything away, but I would like to share an interesting tidbit that the women shared with us…so SPOILER ALERT I suppose! The Old Georgetown Cemetery has been moved and cut down. When Georgetown started urban expansion the city claimed the cemetery wouldn’t be affected, but our interviewees claim that the cemetery used to be much larger, and was never entirely on that hill. This made me really upset, because now who knows where anyone could be buried, especially on the African American side.

However, these interviews confused me in a way. What history are we trying to recover exactly? Whose history? Are we recovering the history of African Americans in  Georgetown, which these women definitely had some insight on, or are we trying to recover the African American experience in general? Maybe its a little late in the game to be asking, but I feel like as we are going into our videos we have to decide what our goal will be for our presentations.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m so glad you posted all of this! First of all, I had just been asking myself the same question about what we are trying to recover. My group is the one about recovery efforts, and I realized that we have been focusing entirely on the icons. We have only been looking into the recovery of cemeteries, but bypassing the recovery of the African experience entirely. I am hoping to gain insight in our upcoming interview into that experience, and I’ll let you guys know if we get any information. I’d love to hear/see more of what you discovered in your interview. Thanks, Megan!

  2. rh567
    March 22, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I think that is really interesting that instead of giving us answers, which we all expected (and to some extent received), the interviews gave us more questions. I think those questions are very very valuable and I was asking them myself the other day. I can’t wait to hear the interviews and the stories those women have to tell.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

