Home > Uncategorized > Something fun to read…

Something fun to read…

Hey everyone, I was just on cracked.com and I couldn’t help but think of our class when I read this article. It’s really interesting, but be warned: it’s not at all academic.

http://www.cracked.com/article_19076_5-important-people-who-were-screwed-out-history-books_p2.html

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 29, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Cracked teaches me something new everyday. It really is amazing how the “winners” write history, and apparently for many years the “winners” were the whites who were in power.
    I thought it was a little interesting, though, that they didn’t mention Henrietta Lacks’ “Immortal Cells.” (Though I’m sure I’ve read something by them before that did) It’s actually very interesting, and shows that we’re still refusing to give huge amounts of credit to those who deserve it.
    For those interested, here’s a link to an article bout her. http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/Henrietta-Lacks-Immortal-Cells.html

  2. March 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Oh my gosh, this is great! It’s so interesting to me that things like the guy who invented steroids and the guy who led the greatest slave rebellion of all time had to be found through recovering history IN ONLY THE LAST 10 YEARS when this stuff took place so long ago. I mean obviously the proof was not destroyed but there was clearly some intentional hiding/downplay going on. What does this say about our history? It inclines personal distrust about much of what I learned in grades 1-12 and even now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

