Home > Uncategorized > Finishing up & Williams family slave quarters

Finishing up & Williams family slave quarters

Well, of course we’re not done. I don’t think we’d ever be able to be done just because, as Dr. Stockton brought up today in class, we have lost so much information and history with time. I’ve been finishing up work on the lack of information regarding freed slaves, and I am currently on a quest to find the Williams family’s slave quarters. Since they are both mentioned in the Williamson County Museum and in the “Images of America: Williamson County” book. They’re somewhere within the county, hopefully still standing, and I want to find them. I feel that this would conjure emotions similar to when we first saw the Old Georgetown cemetery. While it seems like the quarters are now in a stage of decay, much like the cemetery, I still would love to find them. I feel like we’ve learned so much about slavery and it’s history in Texas, this could provide some sort of connection. Some sort of realization of what the experience of slavery could be like. I’m still waiting on a response from the museum, and Google is failing me and giving me locations in Tennessee. Hopefully I’ll be able to locate them soon, because I think that this is something that really isn’t around much anymore. I’ve seen pictures of remodeled slave quarters, and pictures of decaying slave quarters, but I think that being there in person could really be a unique experience.

I’ll let ya’ll know if I have any luck finding them if anyone else has an interest in visiting as well.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. trilderos
    March 29, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    As far as the lost history goes, I’m definitely in agreement. Though it is really shocking to think that there are so many things we will simply never know about these people, even though they really did not live that long ago, while we still have court documents from Ancient China, some 3000 years ago. It really saddens me that we have lost so much in this area.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

