Home > Uncategorized > Putting the Film Together

Putting the Film Together

This is the first time I’ve ever worked with film and, I have to say, it’s a bit nerve wracking. I feel as though we have a lot of very good material, but I also feel that due to how short the video must be our information is focused on breadth rather than depth which feels strange. Our video will be made up primarily of voice overs and a variety of images to match the content, but with our question (what was the African American experience in antebellum Georgetown?) being dependent largely upon speculation, it’s been hard for me to figure out how to best structure our script and materials to reflect both an adequate amount of facts as well as educated hypotheses. We, of course, will be including some interview material, but mostly from Susana’s interview this past Friday with Curator Bernadette Phifer who provided about an hour’s worth of information more on point for our research question than the Macedonia church interview.

However, I know that the material we do have is good, solid material — my group members have really done some fantastic work with this project, I think. But, what does concern me, is simply that our question is so dependent upon speculation. We’ve certainly done plenty of research including interviews, fieldwork, and scholarly books and articles, and I know we discussed the nature, necessity (in some cases), and inevitability (in all cases) of rewriting history through these types of projects and recovery efforts, but something about it still unnerves me to some extent. I can’t really explain it except that I suppose I don’t feel as though it is entirely within my rights to do this.

I know from my research in Native American Studies that, according to the opinion of many Native scholars, that non-Natives should not involve themselves with the recovery efforts of Native pasts and cultures because it is up to other Natives to do this for themselves.

This is something I have thought a great deal about insofar as this project is concerned and, I suppose, I was just wondering what others in our class thought of this. Where our “rights” are in this situation …

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 5, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I completely understand your struggles! My biggest question in making the video was whether we should attempt to make it more aesthetically pleasing but lacking in factual details or to make it interesting or more informative but not especially interesting to watch. Ultimately, I decided that for my group, the main focus was awareness and so it was more important to me that our audience be able to identify with the problem. So I chose the former. But this has been very nerve wracking. You’re absolutely right!

  2. markcotham
    April 5, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    It seems that white involvement in trying to labor towards the restoration of race relations in the United States is at the same time both not enough and too much for some critics. As a white person, it frustrates me to know that my involvement in racial recovery efforts is viewed by some as inflammatory, while others would view a withdrawal from racial recovery efforts as equally inflammatory. I wish there would be a united opinion about the role of whites in race relations, because until there is, it seems like simply being a white person at all will worsen racial tensions.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

