Home > Uncategorized > Ignorance can be bliss

Ignorance can be bliss

I’m a native Texan, and I adore this state. Now I know it isn’t without its flaws, but every state has that secret past they like to ignore a little. The nation as a whole doesn’t like to talk about the whole Native American genocide issue. But I digress.

Growing up in Austin, I’ve spent many a field trip wandering around the Capitol and other State buildings. And since my dad has worked at the Capitol for many years, I’ve seen it a lot. This includes the multiple paintings hanging around the House and Senate. Growing up, I never looked at them and saw the racial issues that we observed today. What I remember being told is how the painter (mostly the same guy) included a cocker spaniel in every painting. My Texas history classes also weren’t the best, either. The Civil War was our ending point, if we ever got there. But I was lucky enough to have parents who were able to explain the truth behind a lot of the myths of Texas Independence.

I think this coincides with one of the things Ms. Phiffer spoke about in the interview. People might touch on the subject, but if it isn’t spoon fed to them, they’ll wonder why it’s important, why they should bother. Because the Texas Board of Education doesn’t seem to have any idea of what is important in schools, certain things are skimmed over. Also, sometimes we don’t have the best teachers either. I went to what I would consider pretty great schools, but sometimes you just get stuck with a horrid teacher. Forcing them to teach around the TAKS tests don’t help much, either.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that sometimes, people need to take the initiative to learn more, to uncover what some sweep under the rug, to pressure the State to take down paintings that portray incorrect history. It’s sad when they don’t, but we have the power to slip some of this information in to their lives.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    I agree with you in that people do need to take some initiative if they really want to uncover our state’s dirty secrets. If more people were aware of these secrets, what kind of effect do you think it would have on the State of Texas? What would be different?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

