Home > Uncategorized > Annoyance

Annoyance

I found a blog, which though not especially noteworthy or different from countless other postings on the internet, especially annoyed me for some reason. It’s apparently from “The simple theory and rantings of a girl from Texas.”  Her blog claims that she is a native Texan and as her profile states: “I thought at first to wipe the spit from my conservative boots, but then I decided to shine my shoes. My thoughts and values tied so deeply to morals that are pure and rich; values that no amount of spit can tarnish.”

It would really be nice if these people that claim to have such strong morals actually understood what they were talking about, and the history behind their focus before they decide to lay claim about “heros such as James Bowie, David Crockett, and William B. Travis.”

While I don’t think this girl is an anomaly or particularly malicious, this is a trend that seems to occur so very often when people have a soapbox to stand on, and the ability to put their words all over the world. Ignorance is really what I’m trying to get at here, or rather the prevalence of it.

http://texastalkandtheory.blogspot.com/2005/11/remember-goliad-remember-alamo.html

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. jvittorio
    April 26, 2011 at 11:43 am

    This kind of ties in to what I was discussing in my post. If these figures have been publicized to represent certain things, and that is the generally accepted understanding of their symbolism, is she wrong in assuming that is what they actually stand for? I understand it’s ignorance, but to what extent is it her fault….

  2. meganvestal
    April 26, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    It is interesting to see how a lot of this ignorance is so institutionalized into schooling today. I mean, granted, many children get their attitudes and opinions about history from their parents (I certainly had mine for a while) but school systems aren’t helping. Ironically, I talked with a friend today after class and in our discussion about the Alamo we realized that the only name we really remembered learning about from the battle was Santa Anna. I thought it was funny.

  3. markcotham
    April 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I find that in a lot of segments of society, people use symbols that they don’t understand. It’s amazing that this folk mythology of famous figures has led them to represent things that they would be entirely opposed to. I see this so much with religion; everybody wants to say that Jesus is on board with their political agenda, and the same with every other religious figure that ever lived.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

